NCS Libraries: Black History Research : Home

Reconstruction

Rise of Jim Crow

Progressive Era

Library Databases

African American Experience (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online database collection on African American history and culture.
American History (ABC-CLIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution. Includes primary documents and analytical essays.
Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
More than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.
America's Historical Newspapers (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Select an era of interest and browse the curated sources from this full-text database of state newspapers (1690-2000).
Black Life in America (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text newspaper databases that covers life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more.
Baltimore Sun Archives (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full coverage of the Baltimore Sun from 1837-1998.
Washington Post Archives (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Archive of the Washington Post from 1877-2007.

Civil Rights

Citing Your Sources

NCS uses NoodleTools to support MLA, APA and Chicago citations. You can sign in with your Microsoft 365 username and password (same as your NCS email).