All databases are accessible from home with an your MyNCS username (email) and password.
Newspapers
Newsstream- US NewspapersEnables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
International NewsstreamProvides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
African American Newspaper ArchiveFull text newspaper databases that covers life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more.
Hispanic Life in America (Newsbank)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 17,500 American and global newspapers, including almost 450 Hispanic American newspapers. Provides full-text searching as well as access to content by Topic, Event, and Eras in Hispanic American History. Updated daily.
American PeriodicalsContains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
ProQuest Central StudentMultidisciplinary resource that brings together many of ProQuest's most important, complete databases in science, technology, education, social sciences, humanities, and news.
JSTORDigitized library of journal articles, books and primary sources, some going back to the 1800's.
SIRS Contemporary IssuesContains full-text articles about a variety of topics, especially useful for current issues and political issues.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)Guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
American History (ABC-CLIO)American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution. Includes primary documents and analytical essays.
American History (Infobase)Subject entries, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs.
US History in ContextContains authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
World History in ContextFrom the ancient world to today's headlines, this source delivers a chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race through primary sources, reference materials and more.
Ancient and Medieval HistoryProvides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key civilizations and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World.
Social Science DatabaseExtensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Smithsonian Primary Source DatabaseChoose from 15 eras and over 1,800 seminal primary sources including documents, maps, historical objects, and other materials from the museums, archives, and collections of the Smithsonian.
Hispanic Life in America (Newsbank)This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 17,500 American and global newspapers, including almost 450 Hispanic American newspapers. Provides full-text searching as well as access to content by Topic, Event, and Eras in Hispanic American History. Updated daily.
Science in ContextIncludes a wide range of sources in a variety of media types covering scientific topics both historical and current.
Science OnlineA comprehensive overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines.
General Science DatabaseThis database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text.
Environmental Sciences DatabaseFull text articles in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
Psychology DatabaseProvides abstracts and indexing for key Psychology titles, many which are available in full text.Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Religion, Culture and Arts
CultureGrams OnlineA resource dedicated to understanding and appreciating the world's countries and peoples by creating and publishing concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural content.
Religion DatabaseA wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions.
